The Candidates (Delcroix Academy #1) by Inara Scott

7245329

Did I love this book? Uhm… No…

Did I hate this book?  Uhm… No…

The Candidates is well written and an entertaining read but definitely not the best read… It wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great.

The book didn’t leave me wanting more and at times while reading the book I got a bit bored…

I had great hopes for this book, as it takes place in a private boarding school for kids with special abilities.

Danica the heroine of the book did not know where to draw the line between selfless and boring. Danica focuses mainly on Cam and not on her powers and other friends. She is constantly thinking of what Cam is going to think of what she is doing that it doesn’t feel if she can think for herself.

As for Cam the so called hero of the story… Nothing deep, nothing… Just nothing!

It didn’t feel as if there is so much chemistry between the two of them. No heart aching, heart longing moments where you feel the two have to end up together or the world is just going to be a sad, sad place.

And then there was Jack. The bad boy. The very very paranoid bad boy. So much so that it felt like at times as if I want to scream at him “Get over it!”. But I liked Jack a lot more then Cam, which maybe says more about me then the book…

The only great thing of this book was Danica’s grandmother, she made this whole book feel a little more worth while!

Will I read the second book in the series? I don’t think so… Maybe if I am bored and there is nothing else to read.

RATING: 2,5/5

Leave a Reply

