Gossip Girl by Cecily von Ziegesar

Gossip GirlI absolutely loved the series Gossip Girl, week by week I would watch the Upper East siders… And after a few months of no Gossip Girl, I decided to read the books….

I wish I could go back in time and slap myself against the head the moment I had the idea, killing a few brain cells and forgetting about the books…

Maybe if I punch myself repeatedly in the head now I will forget what I have read…

As you can guess, I did not like the book. I did not like the first book in the series. I did not like in the second book in the series, and just before I decided that I am going to throw out my whole collection of dvd’s of Gossip Girl, I decided to stop with the third book.

Where to start?

The writing – seriously, seriously, seriously! Where did the writer learn to write or rather where did she learn not to write? The writing was sloppy, it was confusing and I will bet my great grandmothers’ pearl earrings that a 9th grader can do better!

Serena and Blair irritated the @!#$% out of me. They were shallow and there was nothing relatable with them. The whole time that I was reading this I wished that Serena will get hit by a bus or a meteor or basically anything, and that Blair would get institutionalized for thinking that everything should be as a movie…

What the hell was up with Dan, stalker much. Now see here I like an emo guy as much as the next girl, but there comes a point, and that point came rather very fast for me, that you would just like to take Dan to vet and asked that they put him out of his misery.

Chuck, Chuck, Chuck. In the television series I had a love hate relationship with Chuck (mostly from my side, okay, okay, just from my side). But in the books Chuck is nothing short of a rapist and a child who throws tantrums when he doesn’t get what he want, okay he did this in the TV series as well but at least he mixed things up… in the books Chuck is BORING.

The only character I liked in the books was little J, which is ironic as I hated her in the TV series. Little J is a bit naïve in the books, well the first three books, she is relatable, doesn’t have an ego of Mount Everest and there is actually character growth.

If you want to read a book with no plot, then this is the book for you!

If you want to read a book where you can actually feel how your IQ is dropping, then this is the book for you!

This is very possibly the worst book I have ever read.

RATING: 1/5

One thought on “Gossip Girl by Cecily von Ziegesar

  1. Well I will be sure not to read it then!

Leave a Reply

